Community Update

World Pulse Toolkits Available!

At World Pulse, we recognize the need for ongoing learning—for you and for your community! Our toolkits are all available here.

We are especially excited to share our signature Citizen Journalism and Digital Empowerment Curriculum. Start learning today!

sajani

About Me: 

Born in Newari family as youngest child, I enjoyed every bit of my childhood. It is both fun as well as boring. Fun as I was cared and forgiven for the mistake easily and bored for the same reason as I was cared a lot by my elders that used to make me feel restricted. I remember those days where my elders used to pay for my mistake in the form of scold from my parents but it is not that I haven't been bullied by my elders for my own mistake. Well those days were like sweet dream.

Moving on to my school days, I was not that fond of going to school in the initial days, I do remember my mother and the old sister (staff of school who used to come to home to pick the student) had to struggle hard to convince me for school. As time passed on I find the school, the best place to be. As a student, I was good at study and I really take my studies as competition. I am not book-worm though but enjoyed doing my homework. I sincerely thank my elder sister for all her support and care throughout my school life. Since she got married quite earlier she couldn't continue with that support but my two elder brothers were there on her behalf for rest of my study period. Beside the study, I love to play table tennis and have won many competitions as well.

During my Intermediate study, there was quite retard in my study due to difficulty in adjusting in totally new environment. I was used to with small school class room with few students and family like environment, contrary to that college had big hall for class room with large number of students. As time passed on, I realized that we need to accept the changes. I was biology student; I always hesitated the dissection of frog, earthworm. So I felt that I would no longer continue with biology and after passing the Intermediate I switched on to Physic group and head for Engineering Degree.

The friends, I met while studying Engineering were really amazing and true. The location of the college far from the city area surrounded by green field and great views made the day lively. I never know when four year went by.

After getting engineering degree, I really felt as I have achieved something and need to act as responsible person. Seeking for good job was processed; I worked as volunteer for about three to four months then I got an opportunity to work as software programmer and instructor at one of the organization. I am happy that I got good working experience from that organization. Finally I got an opportunity to be the part of Equal Access Nepal, I was appointed as Database officer.

Equal Access to me is like second home with caring and friendly team who work on Youth targeted Radio program called Saathi Sanga Manka Kura (SSMK). When I first joined the office, I used to feel quite awkward to talk with colleagues. Things eased as I revealed good friends though they belong to separate department, I share the room of SSMK letter handling team and got an opportunity to know about the SSMK and other radio programs in more detail.

My job relates to managing and maintaining databases for different projects. Apart from that, analyzing qualitative and quantitative survey and monitoring data are my frequent responsibilities. Equal Access Nepal produces different Radio programs and numerous responses like Letters, Email and SMS from listeners are received each month and preparing analysis reports including both qualitative and quantitative information is one my major responsibilities. I am also involved in “AC4SC” (Accessing Communication for Social Change), a research project which is a joint collaboration with Queensland University of Technology and the University of Adelaide of Australia.

After a month I joined the office, I got married. It was quite challenging to take the new job and new life together but the supports from seniors, colleagues, my husband, my family at that peak moment were the things that I will always remember. Now it's been almost three and half year, I have been working in Equal Access and by now I have long list of good friends at the office. Moreover I have two years old son.

I strongly believe that the change in life is the beauty of life.

My Passions: 
Is my work
My Challenges: 
Is to manage personal life and professional life
My Vision for the Future: 
To explore oneself and to prove oneself as capable woman to World
My Areas of Expertise: 
Designing and maintaining Database and analyzing qualitative and quantitative data in the database
My Languages: 
English, English

Magazine »

Read global coverage through women's eyes

Letters to a Better World

Letters to a Better World

Community »

Connect with women on the ground worldwide

shazia @ shiree's picture

BANGLADESH: Finding Fatima

Campaigns »

Be heard at influential forums

WWW: Women Weave the Web

WWW: Women Weave the Web

Programs »

Help us train women citizen journalists

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

Blog »

Read the latest from World Pulse headquarters

The Women of World Pulse LIVE: Meet Olanike

The Women of World Pulse LIVE: Meet Olanike

Partners »

Join forces with our wide network of partners

Nobel Women's Initiative

Nobel Women's Initiative