Community Update

World Pulse Toolkits Available!

At World Pulse, we recognize the need for ongoing learning—for you and for your community! Our toolkits are all available here.

We are especially excited to share our signature Citizen Journalism and Digital Empowerment Curriculum. Start learning today!

What are Women waiting For?

Women have had the right to vote for a long time. What are we waiting for, our nails to dry?

Country Year women first voted at national level Notes
Afghanistan Kingdom of Afghanistan 1963
Albania Principality of Albania 1920
Algeria 1962
Andorra 1970
Angola People's Republic of Angola 1975
Argentina 1947[23]
Armenia 1917 (by application of the Russian legislation)
1919 March (by adoption of its own legislation)[24]
Aruba N/A
Australia 1902
Austria 1919
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Democratic Republic 1918 Introduced by the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic, making Azerbaijan the first Muslim country ever to enfranchise women.
Bahamas 1960
Bahrain 2002
Bangladesh 1972
Barbados 1950
British Leeward Islands (Today: Antigua and Barbuda, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Anguilla) 1951
British Windward Islands (Today: Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica) 1951
Belarus Belarusian People's Republic 1919
Belgium 1919/1948 Was granted in the constitution in 1919, for communal voting. Suffrage for the provincial councils and the national parliament only came in 1948.
British Honduras (Today: Belize) 1954
Benin Dahomey (Today: Benin) 1956
Bermuda 1944
Bhutan 1953
Bolivia 1938
Botswana 1965
Brazil 1932
Brunei 1959 Elections currently suspended since 1962 and 1965. Only in local elections are they permitted.[25]
Kingdom of Bulgaria 1938
Upper Volta (Today: Burkina Faso) 1958
Burma 1922
Burundi 1961
Cambodia Kingdom of Cambodia 1955
British Cameroons (Today: Cameroon) 1946
Canada 1917 (except for Quebec), 1940 (all Provinces)
Cape Verde 1975
Cayman Islands N/A
Central African Republic 1986
Chad 1958
Chile 1949 From 1934-1949, women could vote in local elections at 25, while men could vote in all elections at 21. In both cases, literacy was required.
China 1947 In 1949 the People's Republic of China (PRC) replaced the Republic of China (ROC) as government of the Chinese mainland. The ROC moved to the island of Taiwan. The PRC constitution also recognises women's equal political rights with men.
Colombia 1954
Comoros 1956
Zaire (Today: Democratic Republic of the Congo) 1967
Congo, Republic of the 1963
Cook Islands 1893
Costa Rica 1949
Côte d'Ivoire 1952
Cuba 1934
Curaçao N/A
Cyprus 1960
Czechoslovakia (Today: Czech Republic, Slovakia) 1920
Kingdom of Denmark (Including Greenland, the Faroe Islands and, at that time, Iceland) 1915
Djibouti 1946
Dominican Republic 1942
Ecuador 1929
Egypt 1956
El Salvador 1939
Equatorial Guinea 1963
Estonia 1917
Ethiopia (Then including Eritrea) 1955
Falkland Islands N/A
Fiji 1963
Russia Grand Principality of Finland 1906
France 1944
French Polynesia N/A
Gabon 1956
Gambia, The 1960
Georgia (country) Democratic Republic of Georgia 1918
Germany 1918
Ghana 1954
Gibraltar N/A
Greece 1930 (Local Elections, Literate Only), 1952 (Unconditional)
Guam N/A
Guatemala 1946
Guernsey N/A
Guinea 1958
Guinea-Bissau 1977
Guyana 1953
Haiti 1950
Honduras 1955
Hong Kong 1949
Hungary Hungarian Democratic Republic 1918
India India 1947 In 1947 India achieved freedom from centuries of colonial rule and granted equal voting rights to all men and women.
Indonesia 1937 (for Europeans only), 1945
Iran 1963
Iraq 1980
Ireland 1918 (partial)
1922 (full) From 1918, with the rest of the United Kingdom, women could vote at 30 with property qualifications or in university constituencies, while men could vote at 21 with no qualification. From separation in 1922, the Irish Free State gave equal voting rights to men and women.
Isle of Man 1881
Israel 1948 Women's suffrage was granted with the declaration of independence.
Italy 1946
Jamaica 1944
Japan 1947
Jersey N/A
Jordan 1974
Kazakh SSR 1924
Kenya 1963
Kiribati 1967
Korea, North 1946
Korea, South 1948
Kuwait 2005
Kyrgyz SSR 1918
Laos Kingdom of Laos 1958
Latvia 1917
Lebanon 1952[26] Proof of elementary education is required for women but not for men, while voting is compulsory for men but optional for women.[27]
Lesotho 1965
Liberia 1946
Libya Kingdom of Libya 1964
Liechtenstein 1984
Lithuania 1918
Luxembourg 1919
Macau N/A
Madagascar 1959
Malawi 1961
Federation of Malaya Federation of Malaya (Today: Malaysia) 1957
Maldives 1932
Mali 1956
Malta 1947
Marshall Islands 1979
Mauritania 1961
Mauritius 1956
Mexico 1947
Micronesia, Federated States of 1979
Moldavian SSR 1940
Monaco 1962
Mongolia Mongolian People's Republic 1924
Morocco 1963
Mozambique People's Republic of Mozambique 1975
Namibia 1989
Nauru 1968
Nepal 1951
Netherlands 1919
New Zealand 1893
Nicaragua 1955
Niger 1948
Nigeria 1958
Norway 1913
Oman 2003
Pakistan 1947
Palau 1979
Panama 1941
Papua New Guinea 1964
Paraguay 1961
Peru 1955
Philippines 1937
Pitcairn Islands 1838
Poland 1917
Trinidad and Tobago 1925 Suffrage was granted for the first time in 1925 to either sex, to men over the age of 21 and women over the age of 30, as in Great Britain (the "Mother Country", as Trinidad and Tobago was still a colony at the time)[28]
Portugal 1931
Puerto Rico 1929
Qatar 1997
Kingdom of Romania 1938
Russia 1917 On July 20, 1917, under the Provisional Government.
Rwanda 1961
Saint Helena N/A
Saudi Arabia Not yet Women were not given the right to vote or to stand for the local election in 2005, although suffrage was slated to possibly be granted by 2009,[29][30][31] then set for later in 2011, but suffrage was not granted either of those times.[32] In late September 2011, King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud declared that women would be able to vote and run for office starting in 2015.[33]
Samoa 1990
San Marino 1959
São Tomé and Príncipe 1975
Senegal 1945
Seychelles 1948
Sierra Leone 1961 In the 1790s, while Sierra Leone was still a colony, women voted in the elections.[34]
Singapore 1947
Sint Maarten N/A
Solomon Islands 1974
Somalia 1956
South Africa 1930 White women only; women of other races were enfranchised in 1994, at the same time as men.
Spain 1931
Ceylon (Today: Sri Lanka) 1931
Sudan 1964
Flag of the Netherlands.svg Suriname 1948
Swaziland 1968
Sweden 1921
Switzerland 1971
Syria 1949
Taiwan 1947
Tajik SSR 1924
Tanzania 1959
Thailand 1932
Timor-Leste 1976
Togo 1945
Tonga 1960
Tunisia 1959
Turkey 1930 (for local elections), 1934 (for national elections)
Turkmen SSR 1924
Tuvalu 1967
Uganda 1962
Ukrainian SSR 1919
United Arab Emirates 2006 Limited suffrage for both men and women[35][36]
United Kingdom (Then including Ireland) 1918 (partial)
1928 (full) From 1918-1928, women could vote at 30 with property qualifications or as graduates of UK universities, while men could vote at 21 with no qualification.
United States 1920
Uruguay 1917/1927 Women's suffrage was broadcast for the first time in 1927, in the plebiscite of Cerro Chato.
Uzbek SSR 1938
Vanuatu 1975
Vatican City Never See below under Catholicism
Venezuela 1946
Vietnam 1946
South Yemen (Today: Yemen) 1967
Zambia 1962
Southern Rhodesia (Today: Zimbabwe) 1919
Yugoslavia (Today: Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia) 1945

Magazine »

Read global coverage through women's eyes

Letters to a Better World

Letters to a Better World

Community »

Connect with women on the ground worldwide

womenspace's picture

CAMBODIA: Ordinary Women Can Make a Difference

Campaigns »

Be heard at influential forums

WWW: Women Weave the Web

WWW: Women Weave the Web

Programs »

Help us train women citizen journalists

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

Partners »

Join forces with our wide network of partners

Nobel Women's Initiative

Nobel Women's Initiative