Community Update

World Pulse Toolkits Available!

At World Pulse, we recognize the need for ongoing learning—for you and for your community! Our toolkits are all available here.

We are especially excited to share our signature Citizen Journalism and Digital Empowerment Curriculum. Start learning today!

Event Tomorrow: World AIDS Day Teleconference for Media, Including Helen Epstein and Beatrice Were

A press briefing by conference call with experts on global HIV/AIDS, assessing the latest epidemic update as well as recently issued proposals by several of the candidates for US President, including Senator Clinton.

We will discuss what the new estimates of the AIDS crisis mean for the next phase of the global response, as Congress begins to rewrite the law authorizing the US AIDS program. Journalists will have the chance to ask questions of several top experts, including the author of a recent book on the AIDS crisis in Africa.

WHO: Helen Epstein - a public health specialist and molecular biologist who has worked on AIDS vaccine research. She is the author of The Invisible Cure.

Beatrice Were -- a Ugandan AIDS and women's rights activist and a founder of the National Community of Women Living with AIDS. She was awarded Human Rights Defender of the Year by Human Rights Watch in both 2005 and in 2006.

Joanne Carter -- Associate Executive Director of RESULTS/RESULTS Educational Fund (REF). For 14 years, she has worked with key Congressional allies to draft legislation and lead campaigns to combat diseases of poverty.

Dr. Paul Zeitz -- Executive Director of the Global AIDS Alliance Fund, who is attending this week's high level meeting on pediatric AIDS in South Africa.

WHEN: Thursday, November 29, 2007 11:30 am ET (10:30 am CT / 9:30 am MT / 8:30 am PT)

Source:
Global AIDS Alliance Fund

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/news_press_release,232112.shtml

Comments

Goldie Davich's picture

question

Are any members of PulseWire going to take part of this conference call?

Goldie Davich, PulseWire Online Intern

Maria Jett's picture

I Wonder, Too!

I myself am not able to make it. Anne-christine might, though. If anyone plans on participating, please bring what you learn back to PulseWire!

Maria Jett, Online Community Director

Magazine »

Read global coverage through women's eyes

Letters to a Better World

Letters to a Better World

Campaigns »

Be heard at influential forums

WWW: Women Weave the Web

WWW: Women Weave the Web

Programs »

Help us train women citizen journalists

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

World Pulse Voices of Our Future

Blog »

Read the latest from World Pulse headquarters

World Pulse Launches our Inaugural Community Advisory Board!

World Pulse Launches our Inaugural Community Advisory Board!

Partners »

Join forces with our wide network of partners

Nobel Women's Initiative

Nobel Women's Initiative